Skip links and keyboard navigation

    Media Statements

    Coat of ArmsMedia Release
    Minister for Transport and Main Roads
    The Honourable Mark Bailey

    Queenslanders to decide state’s best bus drivers

    Minister for Transport and Main Roads
    The Honourable Mark Bailey

    Friday, July 12, 2019

    Queenslanders to decide state’s best bus drivers

    Queenslanders will crown the state’s three best bus drivers after finalists were announced today for the Palaszczuk Government’s 2019 Bus Driver of the Year awards.

    This year’s awards feature an expanded format, with a winner to be named in regional, school and South East Queensland categories.

    Transport and Main Roads Minister Mark Bailey said an industry-led panel had narrowed down the candidates after a mammoth 2,541 nominations were entered across the three categories.

    “There was some serious competition, so it was a tough job to decide on only three finalists in each category,” Mr Bailey said.

    “That so many customers took the time to nominate a driver just shows the quality of service that is being delivered."

    The finalists for each category are:

    Best regional driver

    • James Cran (Toowoomba Transit)
    • Renee-Jade Majid (Sunbus - Rockhampton)
    • Brad Starr and Paul Taylor (Sunbus - Magnetic Island)


    Best school bus driver

    • Lisa Bathern (Sunbus – Townsville)
    • Betty Hipwell (Christensen’s Bus and Coach – Kilcoy)
    • Ken Louw (Brisbane Buslines)


    Best South East Queensland driver

    • Barry Gain (Surfside Buslines)
    • Grant Hoddinott (Brisbane City Council)
    • John Russ (Caboolture Buslines)


    Queenslanders can head to the TransLink website to cast their vote.

    Mr Bailey said interview videos of the finalists could be viewed on the website to help the public decide on their choice before they voted.

    “I would like to congratulate all the drivers who were nominated for an award and give a special mention to the nine finalists," he said.

    “These drivers are a shining example of friendly customer service and going above and beyond to deliver the best service.

    “Bus drivers play an essential role in transporting customers every day and we know there are so many drivers who dedicate themselves to improving each journey for our customers.”

     The winners in each category are set to be announced during this year’s Ekka.

    Ella Reid of Clarks Logan City Bus Service was named the Queensland Bus Driver of the Year during last year’s inaugural contest.


    Media Contact: Francis Dela Cruz - 0420 592 078